Private John Cushnie Collection

Letters Home - 1917

Letters 1917

Private John Cushnie wrote approximatly 91 letters home from 1916 to 1918, and a diary with 220 entries from 1918. These letters and diary entries, gratiously provided by Anne Hales and describe John's life in the CEF, from the telegram that he sent saying that he would be home for his first weekend of leave after enlisting, to the telegram that announced that he was back from Europe.

Date Description
Saturday, January 06, 1917 Details from camp ... others on leave
Sunday, January 14, 1917 Letter home on a Sunday afternoon
Sunday, February 18, 1917 The Ontario version of Tipperary
Saturday, March 17, 1917 Men transferred to border guard duty in Sarnia
Sunday, March 25, 1917 First warning of overseas transfer
Saturday, April 07, 1917 Spending a Sunday while waiting to depart
Monday, April 16, 1917 Reorganizing the 153rd prior to departure
Thursday, April 19, 1917 After a route march during training
Sunday, April 22, 1917 Departure date fixed
Tuesday, April 24, 1917 Post card en-route to Halifax
Thursday, April 26, 1917 On the train to Halifax
Saturday, April 28, 1917 On Board the S.S. Olympic
Tuesday, May 08, 1917 On arrival at Bramshott Camp, England
Friday, May 11, 1917 First impressions of England and a description of the trip over
Sunday, May 13, 1917 Meeting friends from home in Bramshott
Wednesday, May 16, 1917 Postcard on leaving for England
Wednesday, May 16, 1917 Awaiting news from home
Sunday, May 20, 1917 Another Sunday in Quarantine
Thursday, May 24, 1917 Sports Day in Bramshott
Wednesday, May 30, 1917 Pay Day
Sunday, June 03, 1917 New Equipment, YMCA, Getting brother to eat porriage
Saturday, June 16, 1917 Letter home while waiting in queue for a bath
Wednesday, July 04, 1917 Canada Day festivities, new officers
Sunday, July 08, 1917 News from old friends
Saturday, July 21, 1917 Gas training at Bramshott
Monday, July 30, 1917 Visiting Tennysonís home
Sunday, August 05, 1917 Musketry course at Longmoor range
Sunday, August 12, 1917 Difference between Longmoor range and Bramshott
Saturday, August 18, 1917 Explosion at Longmoor, 4 from the 153rd killed
Tuesday, August 28, 1917 Signal School
Saturday, September 15, 1917 Sports day at Bramshott
Sunday, September 30, 1917 What to send to a soldier
Saturday, October 27, 1917 Brighton and Seaford
Saturday, November 03, 1917 Signaling school, being the camp mess orderly and thoughts on conscription
Saturday, November 17, 1917 Meeting old friends, description of West Dean
Wednesday, December 26, 1917 Christmas Day in Bramshott

 

Next Page